The Elizabethan era is the period of English history when Queen Elizabeth I ruled England (1558-1603). This era is often considered the "Golden Age" of England because it was a time of immense progress, stability, and national pride. During Elizabeth's reign, England flourished politically and economically. The country also began extending its reach to the New World, solidifying its status as a world power. Protestant England became more unified than ever after the defeat of the Catholic Spanish Armada in 1588. The period is also considered one of the most prolific eras of the English Renaissance, which saw an outpouring of poetry and drama, most notably that of William Shakespeare . The Elizabethan era significantly shaped the future of England and culminated in the dawn of the British Empire.
Caffrey, Cait. “Elizabethan Era.” Salem Press Encyclopedia, Jan. 2023. EBSCOhost, research.ebsco.com/linkprocessor/plink?id=3b5a2c7f-b581-3f9e-8491-1944a0447d58.
Fitzsimons, CC BY-SA 3.0, via Wikimedia Commons
More than 650,000 biographical entries covering international figures from all time periods and areas of study. Offers authoritative reference content alongside, videos, audio selections, images, primary sources, and magazine and journal articles from hundreds of major periodicals and newspapers. Continuously updated.
A full-text database that combines information from over 1,000 books and monographs, major literary encyclopedias and reference works, hundreds of literary journals, and unique sources not available anywhere else.
European Views of the Americas is a searchable bibliographic index to books, manuscripts, broadsides and other materials printed in Europe relating to the Americas, 1493-1750. Among the topics covered by are the slave trade, piracy, French in American, British colonies, commerce, exploration, Dutch in America and the Jesuits. Other subjects include botany, shipping, natural history, mines, minerals, law, navigation and named areas like Chile, Hispaniola, Jamaica, New York, Peru and other individual countries, islands, cities, colonies and regions. The original bibliography was co-developed by John Alden and Dennis Landis, Curator of European Books at The John Carter Brown Library.
This interface is designed specifically for high school students according to their needs and search abilities. This interface is graphically rich and provides access to age-appropriate materials. Includes topic overviews that provide students with a starting point for research and 60,000 top videos from the Associated Press.
Gale Literary Index provides quick and easy access to author and title listings from over 130 literature products from Gale and the imprints Charles Scribner's Sons, St. James Press, and Twayne Publishers. The referenced products themselves will contain complete biographies on authors and critical essays on their writings.
Literary Reference Source (LRS) features full text author biographies, plot summaries & work overviews, essays, reference books & monographs, periodicals, book reviews, poems from hundreds of sources, short stories, classic texts, author interviews, and more.
Modern World History offers a comprehensive look at world history from the mid-15th century to the present. Thousands of subject entries, biographies, images, videos and slideshows, maps and graphs, primary sources, and timelines combine to provide a detailed and comparative view of the people, places, events, and ideas that have defined modern world history. Focused Topic Centers pull forward interesting entries, search terms, documents, and maps handpicked by our editors to help users find a starting point for their research, as well as videos and slideshow overviews to offer a visual introduction to key eras and regions. All the Infobase history databases in a collection are fully cross-searchable.
Peruse the LMC's offerings.
Topic |
Dewey Decimal Number Range |
|---|---|
| Religion | 200s |
| Gender Roles | 305.3, 305.4 |
| Social Class: Jobs, Living Conditions, etc. | 305s, 331s, 338s |
| Education and Schooling | 370s |
| Superstitions, Beliefs around Death and Burial | 393.9, 394.1 |
| Marriage Customs and Traditions | 392s, 392.5 |
| Fashion and Clothing | 391s |
| Medicine, Disease, Hygiene | 610s |
| Food, Drink, Diet | 641s |
| Sports, Entertainment, Music | 780s, 790s |
| Elizabethan English Poetry | 821.3 |
| History of England | 942 |
| Topic | Search Terms and Keywords | Potential Database Subject Headings | Other Helpful Search Tips |
|---|---|---|---|
| Religion | Elizabethan religion, Church of England, Catholicism, persecution of Catholics, anti-Catholic laws | Religion, Christianity, Protestantism, Anglicanism | Use quotation marks around exact phrases |
| Food, Drink, Diet | Elizabethan cuisine, Tudor food, Diet in the 16th century, feasts, famine, crops, agriculture, meals, dishes, recipes, ale, wine | Culinary history, Historical recipes, Food, Cooking, Agriculture | Search history or cooking databases for authentic recipes |
| Medicine, Disease, Hygiene | Elizabethan medicine, Tudor remedies, Health in the 16th century, Black Death/bubonic plague, smallpox, typhus, malaria, childbed fever, hygiene, Barber Surgeons, apothecaries | Medical history, Epidemics and plagues, Medicine, Diseases, Medical personnel | Include era-specific terms like "ague" for malaria |
| Fashion and Clothing | Elizabethan fashion, Tudor clothing, Dress in the 16th century, doublets, farthingales, ruffs, coifs, hose, gowns, fabrics, sumptuary laws | Costume history, Textile industry, Clothing, Fashion | Browse artwork and portraits from the era |
| Social Class: Jobs, Living Conditions, etc. | Elizabethan social hierarchy, Occupations in the 16th century, nobility, gentry, merchants, laborers/peasants, servants, apprentices, living conditions | Social history, Economic conditions, Social classes | Include both formal titles and colloquial terms |
| Gender Roles | Elizabethan gender roles, Women in the 16th century, Men's roles, patriarchy, women's roles as wives/mothers, women’s education, women’s legal rights | Gender studies, Femininity and masculinity, Sex role, Gender inequality | Consider comparing men and women |
| Sports, Entertainment, Music | Elizabethan sports, Tudor entertainment, Music in the 16th century, jousting, bear baiting, hunting/hawking, dancing, theatre, music, instruments | Performing arts, Leisure activities, Sports, Recreation | Search theatre history resources specifically |
| Marriage Customs and Traditions | Elizabethan marriage, Tudor weddings, Marriage rituals, arranged marriages, dowries, weddings, illegitimacy, divorce | Family history, Customs and traditions, Marriage customs and practices | Include religion as a factor |
| Education and Schooling | Elizabethan education, Tudor schools, Learning in the 16th century, tutors, petty schools, universities, illiteracy rates, subjects studied | Educational history, School systems, Education | Search history of education resources |
| Superstitions, Beliefs around Death and Burial Rituals | Elizabethan superstitions, Tudor beliefs, Death customs, witchcraft, magic, spells, Death and burial customs, funerals | Folklore, Mortuary customs, Superstition, Death customs | Browse primary sources like diaries and court records |