LibGuides: Heroes of the Revolution: Home

A Note on Databases

Away from campus? Having trouble logging in?

You can access any of our databases by using the login credentials available here! You must be logged into your West Orange High School Google account to access this document.

LMC Research Databases

African-American History This link opens in a new window
Covering more than 500 years of the African-American experience, African-American History offers a fresh way to explore the full spectrum of African-American history and culture. Users can start their investigation of a topic with a video or slideshow overview, use the key content called out on the home page to find an entryway into the database, or dig deep into an era through the Topic Centers. Read about key figures and events, examine famous speeches and other primary sources, and get context from the in-depth timelines.
American Government This link opens in a new window
American Government provides a complete, multifaceted examination of the foundations of our government and political system that supports any curriculum or research project focused on the government of the United States.
American History This link opens in a new window
Spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history covering the American experience. One of Infobase Learning's History databases to assist educators and students in their research needs. Fully revised, cross-searchable, and seamlessly integrated for complete history coverage.
American History This link opens in a new window
Appreciating American history requires students to understand the implicit yet underlining role of defining moments and movements in the evolution of the America they know. By putting past events in context with contemporary realities, American History encourages students to think critically about America’s history in relation to its future.

American History surveys American history from the colonial era and American Revolution through to the nation’s rise to eminence as a global superpower, analyzing American political conflict, economic development, and changing culture and thought as they tell one continuous and continuing story of America’s history.
Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
More than 650,000 biographical entries covering international figures from all time periods and areas of study. Offers authoritative reference content alongside, videos, audio selections, images, primary sources, and magazine and journal articles from hundreds of major periodicals and newspapers. Continuously updated.
European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 This link opens in a new window
European Views of the Americas is a searchable bibliographic index to books, manuscripts, broadsides and other materials printed in Europe relating to the Americas, 1493-1750. Among the topics covered by are the slave trade, piracy, French in American, British colonies, commerce, exploration, Dutch in America and the Jesuits. Other subjects include botany, shipping, natural history, mines, minerals, law, navigation and named areas like Chile, Hispaniola, Jamaica, New York, Peru and other individual countries, islands, cities, colonies and regions. The original bibliography was co-developed by John Alden and Dennis Landis, Curator of European Books at The John Carter Brown Library.
Explora This link opens in a new window
This interface is designed specifically for high school students according to their needs and search abilities. This interface is graphically rich and provides access to age-appropriate materials. Includes topic overviews that provide students with a starting point for research and 60,000 top videos from the Associated Press.
Modern World History This link opens in a new window
Modern World History offers a comprehensive look at world history from the mid-15th century to the present. Thousands of subject entries, biographies, images, videos and slideshows, maps and graphs, primary sources, and timelines combine to provide a detailed and comparative view of the people, places, events, and ideas that have defined modern world history. Focused Topic Centers pull forward interesting entries, search terms, documents, and maps handpicked by our editors to help users find a starting point for their research, as well as videos and slideshow overviews to offer a visual introduction to key eras and regions. All the Infobase history databases in a collection are fully cross-searchable.

Away from campus? Having trouble logging in?

You can access any of our databases by using the login credentials available here! You must be logged into your West Orange High School Google account to access this document.

Project Links

Assignment Description
Courtesy of Mrs. Brady.
Google Sites
Where you'll build your PBA.
Fake Instagram Stories Template
For fake stories.
Fake Tweet Template 1
For fake tweets.
Fake Tweet Template 2
For fake tweets.
Generic Social Media Template
For fake generic social media posts.
TikTok Template
For fake TikToks.
TweetGen
For fake social media posts.

Sample Project

Deborah Sampson

Books, Books, Books!

Catalog Search

Peruse the LMC's offerings.

Where to Browse: Notable Dewey Numbers

Social Perspectives

Dewey Decimal Number	Category
305.896	African American History during the American Revolution
305.4092	Biographies of Women in the American Revolution
305.800973	Native American Social Conditions during the American Revolution
305.230973	Immigrant Experiences during the American Revolution
331.768	Working Class and Labor Movement in the American Revolution
338.762	Economic Changes and Impact on Society during the American Revolution
323.1196073	Civil Rights and Liberties during the American Revolution

Historical Perspectives

Dewey Decimal Number	Category
973.3	American Revolution (general)
973.3092	Biographies of American Revolution Figures
973.331	African Americans in the American Revolution
973.332	Native Americans in the American Revolution
973.334	Women in the American Revolution
973.336	Immigrants in the American Revolution
973.338	Common Soldiers and Everyday Life
973.343	Economic Aspects of the American Revolution
973.345	Political Leaders and Founding Fathers
973.347	Social Movements and Class Struggles

Search Tips and Strategies

Category	Search Terms and Keywords	Potential Database Subject Headings	Search-Enhancing Idioms	Specific People
General Keywords	American Revolution, Revolutionary War	American Revolution, 1775-1783	"Founding Fathers"	George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, John Adams, Benjamin Franklin, Alexander Hamilton
Gender Diversity	Women in the American Revolution	Women -- United States -- History	"Women's roles in the Revolution"	Abigail Adams, Molly Pitcher, Mercy Otis Warren, Deborah Sampson
Racial Diversity	African Americans in the Revolution	African Americans -- History -- 18th century	"Black Patriots"	Crispus Attucks, James Armistead, Peter Salem, Salem Poor
Socioeconomic Diversity	Common people in the Revolution	Working class -- United States -- History	"Everyday life during the Revolution"	Joseph Plumb Martin, Martha Washington, Eliza Lucas Pinckney, Robert Morris
Native Americans	Native American involvement in the Revolution	Indians of North America -- History	"Native allies in the Revolutionary War"	Joseph Brant, Thayendanegea, Cornstalk, Dragging Canoe
Leadership Roles	Military leaders of the Revolution	United States -- History -- Revolution, 1775-1783 -- Biography	"Commanders in the American Revolution"	Benedict Arnold, Marquis de Lafayette, Baron von Steuben, Nathanael Greene
Political Figures	Political leaders of the Revolution	United States -- Politics and government -- 18th century	"Political figures in Revolutionary War"	John Adams, Patrick Henry, Thomas Paine, Thomas Jefferson
Diplomacy	Diplomatic efforts during the Revolution	United States -- Foreign relations -- 18th century	"Revolutionary War diplomacy"	Benjamin Franklin, John Jay, John Adams, Thomas Jefferson
Literature and Art	Artistic expressions of the Revolution	Art and the Revolution, Literature and the Revolution	"Artistic portrayal of the American Revolution"	Phillis Wheatley, Charles Willson Peale, John Trumbull, Paul Revere
Religious Figures	Religious leaders and the Revolution	United States -- Religion -- 18th century	"Religious influences in the Revolution"	Peter Muhlenberg, John Witherspoon, Jonathan Mayhew, George Whitefield
Primary Sources	Letters, diaries, and documents from the Revolution	American Revolution sources, Revolutionary War primary documents	"Eyewitness accounts of the Revolution"	Thomas Paine, John Dickinson, John Adams, Abigail Adams

Search Tips: Boolean Basics

General Search Tips: Boolean Basics

Constructing a good search is boring—well, the transitive verb form of “boring,” as in “boring a tunnel through the hillside.” Constructing a good search is also mining—extracting items of interest from a mass of material that, while potentially valuable, isn’t exactly what you need at the moment. Constructing a good search is boring and mining both bundled into a series of active operations. Faced with a heap of information, your job is to dig your way through and arrive on the other side, culling gems, jewels, ores, and fragments from the tunnel walls along the way. Boolean operators—AND, OR, and NOT—will help you as you go. (Just be sure to type them in all-caps to ensure they function properly!)

AND: Sometimes you’re looking for silver; sometimes you’re looking for gold. Sometimes you want both, and AND is here to make it happen (for example: silver AND gold). That said, silver and gold aren’t typically found in the same vein. When you busy yourself searching for El Dorado, you may ignore a city of silver just around the corner...

OR: Sometimes, you’ll have to include a fork in your tunnel, and that’s okay since OR lets you have it both ways (for example: left OR right). You don’t necessarily need to dig each route to completion—pursue one or the other, but just far enough to find (or realize that you aren’t finding) what you’re looking for. If you follow too many forks, you just might find yourself trapped in a labyrinth, so OR with caution!

NOT: Sometimes you’re only sure what you don’t want, and that’s where NOT comes in handy (for example: poetry NOT Shakespeare). That said, sometimes—perhaps more often than we’d like to admit—we’re sure we don’t want something until we do want it. Though it’s useful to know where not to dig, excluded areas very well may contain the slightest hint, the tiniest sliver, of whatever we’re clawing toward. NOT at your own peril!

Citation Station

Perdue OWL
For all your MLA needs.
NoodleTools
For gathering, annotating, and exporting citations.

Slippin' Slides

Open Web Resources: Primary Sources and Books

Digital Public Library of America
Discover 47,113,728 images, texts, videos, and sounds from across the United States.
Early American Sources
Archives and libraries have been digitizing their rare materials for decades. This site contains lists for many of the digital collections found in the United States. They are arranged by state/territory. All of these digital collections are open access, free to use, and include some of the best digitized sources related to early America.
Google Books
Come on, you know Google Books.
Google Images
I strongly encourage you to make use of Google Lens as you discover and explore the many digital images spread across the web.
Hathitrust
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic and research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
National Archives
The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper. Of all documents and materials created in the course of business conducted by the United States federal government, only 1%-3% are so important for legal or historical reasons that they are kept by us forever.

Those valuable records are preserved and are available to you, whether you want to see if they contain clues about your family’s history, need to prove a veteran’s military service, or are researching a historical topic that interests you.
Library of Congress
The Library of Congress is the largest library in the world, with millions of books, films and video, audio recordings, photographs, newspapers, maps and manuscripts in its collections. The Library is the main research arm of the U.S. Congress and the home of the U.S. Copyright Office.
The Smithsonian
At the center of research across the Smithsonian are the specialized branches and librarians of the Smithsonian Libraries. The collections and staff of the Libraries play a key role in helping the Smithsonian’s research and curatorial staff make sense of the museums’ almost innumerable, often unique, objects and their cultural and historical contexts. The Smithsonian Libraries are a hidden national treasure, where experts come to test and expand knowledge and where America and the world can turn for authentic answers.
Their Own Words
Their Own Words is a digital collection of books, pamphlets, letters, and diaries, dating from the latter eighteenth through the early twentieth century, that reflects the history of the United States. This collection currently contains more than 34,500 individual pages of text and corresponding transcriptions, covering a variety of topics, including: colonial American politics; U.S. politics, government, and foreign relations; historical biography and autobiography; slavery and abolition; the American Civil War; the temperance movement; foreign travel; economics; medicine; philosophy; and theology. This online resource is made freely available, and we believe that it will be of value to teachers, students, and researchers at all levels of instruction.
John Carter Brown Archive of Early American Images
A database of graphic representations of the colonial Americas, from Hudson Bay to Tierra del Fuego, drawn entirely from primary sources printed or created between 1492 and ca. 1825.